Wk 8 – Art Experience – Sketches

This week we got to do some sketching! I was pretty excited about this one, because we got to meet at the Japanese Gardens on campus. I’ve been to the Japanese Gardens twice before this, and both times were really cool. They have tons of plants and great scenery; the perfect place for some good ol’ sketching. Well, it would have been, if I wasn’t so terrible at sketching in the first place. Man, I thought I was going to draw some awesome scenic pictures that were going to change the world as we know it. I couldn’t have been more wrong. Check this out:

015

These are the first two 30 second sketches I made. The first one is supposed to be my good friend Lukas standing under a tree. It only took me one sketch to realize that my artistic ability peaked in the third grade. It was also really hard to draw something in 30 seconds, and I felt pressured to finish my sketch or else it would look even worse and incomplete. The bottom picture is supposed to be a bridge next to a tree going over some water. Who woulda guessed.

I then did the 5 minute sketch, which, in my opinion anyway, was better than those two previous sketches. Here it is, in all it’s glory:

013

Ah ha! A little better but still pretty bad. This one had much more detail, but unfortunately the quality of the details wasn’t very good. I also realized I had no idea how to draw leaves. Or branches. Or anything. But I tried, and that’s all that really matters in the ends of thing, right? I hope.

Leave a Reply

