This week we had a very fun art activity that involved two of my favorite things: spray paint and cardboard.

Basically, what we were supposed to do was use some spray paint to write out our names in bubble letters. After that we were allowed to get as creative as we wanted. We had to choose what we wanted to spray paint on, and I went with the cheapest option: cardboard. I had plenty of it laying around from an A/C unit my sister bought a couple of weeks ago so I jumped at the opportunity and spray painted on her cardboard without even asking.

Here’s how it turned out:

009

Believe it or not, I have quite a bit of experience spray painting things over the years of making things and restoring my car, so I thought this would be a piece of cake. But spraying a nice, thick, even coat of paint on a metal object turned out to be surprisingly different from writing my name on cardboard with the same paint. There’s definitely more finesse involved with creating art with spray paint as opposed to “just spray painting something”.

I ended up doing this activity with a few friends from the same class, and ended up sharing our paint colors. I began writing my name in the colors I had (blue and black) and then ended up throwing in some yellow, green, and pink.

008.JPG

To be honest, it didn’t really matter what colors I used because I would have used every color invented if I had the choice. In my art, more colors = better (most of the time). But the 5 combined colors we had were good enough. Now that I think about, we may have been able to mix the paint somehow to create new colors. Or maybe not, I don’t know.

Anyway, as my favorite cold drink always said, it doesn’t matter what color you choose because they’re all the same in the end.

“Red or Blue, Cuz or Blood, it just don’t matter,

Sucker die for your life when my shot gun scatters.

The gangs of LA will never die – just multiply.

Colors.”

– Ice-T, 1988

018.JPG

 

 

Leave a Reply

