Met a cool guy a few days ago

So I met some guy a few days ago during class. He seems pretty cool. His name’s John.

We got to talking and it turns out he’s actually a Film Theory major! I asked him what a Film Theory major does and he said “Exactly what it sounds like.”

So obviously I had no idea what he was talking about. Was it like Theoretical Physics except for films? So I asked him to explain.

I don’t remember what he said, but I’m sure it was pretty cool.

Then I asked him, “Where do you draw the line when determining whether something is art or not?”

That stumped both of us. We sat there for a good 15 seconds trying to think of something, until he said “It’s not art if it causes harm to anything that can feel pain.”

That’s as good a definition as I’ve ever heard.

Here’s a picture of said John giving a thumbs up after analyzing an intense art question:

IMG_1320.JPG

Leave a Reply

